(Probably not) made in Chelsea

You’ll have noticed by now I’ve curbed my spending (a bit) in pursuit of a lovely new handbag. Broadly speaking, it hasn’t been that hard, largely owing to the fact I have quite an extensive wardrobe, but there is one item I’ve had a yen for – a pair of Chelsea boots. I remember having a pair from Ravel (remember them?) when I was about 8 or 9 and loving them, and just lately I’ve been thinking they might be the solution to all my footwear problems (so, just like every other pair of boots I’ve ever bought then?)

At first I thought I might get the Russell & Bromley Cadogans, which I’ve wanted for a couple of years but, being a constantly evolving creature, I have now decided they are too shiny.

20131026-095709.jpg
The Grenson Jessies are very similar but less shiny and I really like these, but I’m not yet totally sure whether I want brogue detailing or not.

20131026-095832.jpg
If I were going to opt for brogue detailing, these Balenciaga Arenas would be the dream. Well, if they’re good enough for Kate Moss…

20131026-100024.jpg
From the sublime to the ridiculous but also pretty sublime, I saw this beautiful blue velvet Penelope Chilvers pair in the flesh at Matches the other day. They are sumptuous, but I need to remember my lifestyle is not one into which a pair of velvet boots would easily fit.

20131026-100231.jpg
A surprising contender from M&S here – the navy elastic insert adds a bit of interest and I always get on well with an almond toe (I have weird pointy feet).

20131026-100447.jpg
If I could have any boots at all it would be this Saint Laurent pair, but they would eat quite heavily into the bag fund and I’d have to get the Gucci Disco (the cheapest on my shortlist – what a hardship). They are pretty special though.

20131026-100749.jpg
I’ve always had a good success rate with Dune boots, and I like the low ankle on this pair. Not the most exciting by any means, but I do like them.

20131026-101015.jpg

And onto the ones I’ll probably buy – the Dr Martens Kensington Flora. I used to love my DMs as a kid and I think I’m ready for my first adult pair. This is a nice entry level option before I graduate to the 8-hole.

20131026-101502.jpg
They also come in burgundy, which I really love, but would that be limiting? I don’t know.

20131026-101547.jpg
So which do you like the best? Please don’t say the Saint Laurent…

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About ambernectarine

28 year old mother to two small, slightly grubby people, who really, really likes clothes.

2 responses to “(Probably not) made in Chelsea”

  1. Style At Every Age says :

    I like the Dune ones best, really classic in style. I got a pair from sevenbootlane.com slightly higher heel but beautifully made x

  2. iwontwearsludgebrown (@iwontwearsludge) says :

    The Grenson Jessies for me – this is one fashion that I wore many moons ago but would have no hesitation in wearing again x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 417 other followers

