Monday Morning Lust List – ASOS

Isn’t it a disappointingly grey morning after that lovely weekend of sunshine? It was so nice to actually leave the house sans duvet coat and not have to use the heated seats in the car. I’m sure normal service will be resumed soon, but for the purposes of this lust list, let’s pretend summer is on the horizon…

Today the subject of my covetousness is ASOS. I wasn’t a regular user of the site, but after two orders in the last week and some excellent customer service they are now firmly on my radar. While I was browsing, I realised that they stock such a great range of brands it can be easy to overlook their excellent and fashion-foward designs, so here are my favourites from their eponymous collection:

I am a firm believer that every girl needs a denim shirt, and this great boyfriend style gives an old favourite a 2013 twist.

ASOS Denim Boyfriend Shirt with Shadow Pocket - £30

ASOS Denim Boyfriend Shirt with Shadow Pocket – £30

The shaded pocket detailing and looser fit makes this shirt just a little bit more current than its western, press-stud equivalent, and I love the way it is styled with a short floral skirt  – very 90s grunge.

This year might finally be the year I brave white jeans, and this pair look great.

Ridley Supersoft High Waisted Ultra Skinny Jeans - £28

Ridley Supersoft High Waisted Ultra Skinny Jeans – £28

High waisted, supersoft and with apparently bum-lifting pockets, what’s not to like? My only concern is how see-through they might be, but I think I’ll order them to find out. These would look great with the denim shirt above and grey cowboy boots.

T-Shirt Dress with Grid Print - £28

T-Shirt Dress with Grid Print – £28

In my fantasies I am the kind of girl who can slink around in super-short dress bare-legged and wearing flat sandals. Unfortunately, the reality is I don’t do a lot of slinking, and for the sake of all concerned it would be best if I didn’t expose my thighs to the general public. However, I think this dress could actually work quite nicely tunic-style over the white jeans, with black leather gladiators. After all, we did see a few dresses over trousers on the SS13 catwalks, and if Dries Van Noten says it’s OK then that’s good enough for me!

This simple zip-top clutch is a lot like a Stella McCartney one I’ve had my eye on, except it’s a third of the price and leather (sorry Stella)

Leather Clutch Bag with Faux Pony Animal Print - £35

Leather Clutch Bag with Faux Pony Animal Print – £35

As my friend Antonia (and Diane Von Furstenburg before her) says, leopard print is a neutral, so this clutch would go with just about anything. ASOS have styled it with a sleek-all black outfit, which looks great, but I love leopard as part of a print clash, and this simple style would look great against stripes or plaid.

Printed jackets are everywhere this season, and ASOS is no exception.

Jacket in Habernera Print - £55

Jacket in Habernera Print – £55

I don’t go a bundle on all the florals which seem to be the print of choice for this sort of jacket, so I really love the vibrant colours and bold pattern here. I would throw this on over a grey marl tee and skinnies for a laid-back summer look.

You’ve probably gathered by now that I am a big fan of flat footwear, and I have a large collection of flat sandals. However, like any good shoe-fetishist my collection is never complete and I would love to add this pair to my wardrobe:

Forest Leather Flat Sandals - £26

Forest Leather Flat Sandals – £26

I love the slingback style of these beauties, and I’d wear them with cropped black jeans and a loose white shirt for monochrome chic with a tribal twist.

A statement necklace is a great way to dress up a simple look, and with this lilac bib version you can incorporate summer pastels into your wardrobe without the risk of looking washed out:

Premium Jewelled Bib Necklace - now £28

Premium Jewelled Bib Necklace – now £28

I think this would look gorgeous paired with a navy and white striped top and maybe the white skinnies featured in this post (see, they’re so versatile…)

If you liked the Pheobe Philo look I blogged about here, these may be for you…

Domino Running Trainers with Suede Detail - Now £17.50

Domino Running Trainers with Suede Detail – Now £17.50

Currently half price and available in a range of colours, these trainers are an affordable way of tapping into the sports luxe trend. I like the patent detail on this black pair, which I would team with rolled up skinnies, a white t-shirt, black leather biker jacket and Ray Ban wayfarers.

I was really suprised at how much of the ASOS collection I liked, and the white skinnies, tribal sandals and printed jacket are definitely on my list to try. What did you think of my picks? Anything I’ve missed tickling your fancy? As always I love to receive your comments, so do let me know!

Happy Monday everyone!

4 thoughts on “Monday Morning Lust List – ASOS

  1. I love ASOS – you can’t beat their customer service or rather I’ve had no problems so far, free P&P and returns and quick delivery – you can’t get any fairer than when they suddenly have a 20% off everything sale just to make your day.

    I think you’re selling yourself a pair of white skinnies aren’t you? Go on. You know you want to.

  2. I quite like the t shirt dress as it is versatile, something I could wear to work and at weekends.

    I think I might hunt one out now….

    • I love it, but it’s soo short, and my legs are not up to that kind of scrutiny. May get to wear tunic style though…

Leave a Reply

