George Summer Style Launch

Yesterday I was lucky enough to be invited to a preview of George’s high summer collection at their offices in London. For those of you who don’t know much about the brand, it was established as the Asda fashion brand in 1990 by George Davies, the man who also brought us Next. George is now the third biggest retailer of adult clothing in the UK, and is sold in seven countries worldwide! They have regular collections designed by Biba founder Barbara Hulanicki, and have recently been working with designers from Graduate Fashion week for up-to-the-minute styles from emerging British designers.

I met one such talent, Claire Acton, at the event, who talked me through her designs for the G21 arm of the brand, aimed at younger customers. I particularly loved the graphic swimsuits – very We Are Handsome.

361

City-scape swimsuit

360

Grrrrr

The collection as a whole was real eyeopener for me. I’ve bought the odd bit from George before, but I wasn’t expecting to love as many items from the collection as I did.

367

Gorgeous summer florals

Bold monochrome and neon

The sunglasses were a definite highlight. I love my RayBans, but I have watched too many pairs splash into the sea over the side of a boat to contemplate spending a fortune on my holiday pairs. These catseye and aviator styles are on my wishlist…

304

Bring on the sunshine!

295

How cute is this folding pair?

308a

I am so getting these blue aviators!

My favourites pick of the collection was this botanical print skirt. I loved the rich greens, and it was made of neoprene, so I imagine it would be super flattering. And at £12 it is an absolute bargain. I will be snapping this up as soon as it drops in store, to wear to work with a white shirt.

317

Tropical print skirt £12

I also loved this Aztec inspired beach bag. The pom-pom detailing is so sweet, I cannot wait to sling my suncream into it!

321

Pom-pom tote £10

This twenties inspired dress is just so beautiful. The shimmering, scalloped silver embellishment (try saying that when you’ve had a few) really lifts the simple shape.

320

Beaded dress, £25

This top has festival written all over it. Pair it with denim cut offs, a straw trilby and wellies and you’re good to go.

347

Didn’t get the price on this one – sorry!

This dress is so far up my street it should be paying me rent! I’m definitely going to buy it, and I’ll be wearing it with a tribal-inspired statement collar and leopard gladiators.

365

Jersey midi-dress, £10

As well as getting to preview the collection, George were kind enough to lay on hairstyling, makeovers and manicures, courtesy of the beautifully-turned-out Powderpuff Girls. No shot of the gorgeous deep-red manicure I’m afraid, as in typical Amber style I managed to chip it almost immediately.

296a

Getting my hair done

346

Post-makeover Instagram

And here is what I wore:

328a

And a close-up:

331

Outfit:

Shirt – Diesel via TK Maxx
Jeans – Nudie High Kai
Boots – Carvela
Belt – & Other Stories
Bag – Alexander Wang Rocco
Ring – River Island (old)
Earrings – MariaFrancescaPepe
Necklace – Etsy

All the items I’ve featured here will be hitting stores and the George website over the next few weeks, but if you want more info on any of the pieces, drop me a tweet, comment or email and I’ll see what I can find out.

3 thoughts on “George Summer Style Launch

  1. Wow, sound line you had a fab time.

    I’m interested in the accessories like the sunglasses and beach bag, so ill keep my eye out in store

Leave a Reply

