Review: Mary & Clarks La Promenade Studded Brogue

When I was approached to review some shoes from the Mary & Clarks collection, I knew exactly the pair I would chose – the La Promenade Studded Brogue.

20130424-210316.jpgI had tweeted about them earlier in the week, and they were already on my mental shopping list, so it was great to have the opportunity to ‘try before you buy’. And buy I most certainly shall, as these shoes are, in the words of someone much cooler than me, the bomb.

The Mary in question is of course, Mary Portas, of Queen of Shops fame, and as you would expect from such a shrewd businesswoman, these shoes are considered and carefully thought out. The combination of brogue style, metallic snake print and studs is fabulously OTT and completely on trend (rather like Mary herself). I love the juxtaposition of sensible shoe with blingy glamour – I would feel completely comfortable (in both senses of the word) wearing these shoes on a night out. If you want a slightly more toned down version, they also come in black or white.

The leather is light and soft, the laces are waxed, so won’t get soggy in the rain, and the best part? They have underfoot padding. I know – heaven! One thing I will say though is, if you are between sizes, size down. I usually wear a 6, or a 5.5 if I can find one, but the sample I was sent to review is a 5, and it fits like a glove.

Now, I know what you’re all thinking, a blogger paid to plug a product will wax lyrical about any old bobbins. Well, no. Firstly, I have far too much integrity for that kind of carry-on and secondly, the shoes are only on loan (sob) and I was not paid a penny for this review. I genuinely just think these shoes are brilliant, and I like to share my discovery of anything great with you lot.

I have styled them here with cropped jeans and a (slightly crumpled) Mickey Mouse t-shirt for a casual look, but for work I will wear them with slim-fit tailored trousers and a fitted shirt, or even a midi-skirt.

20130424-205648.jpgLuckily for me, there is currently 20% off the entire Mary & Clarks collection when you enter code “BMARY13” at the checkout. Even if the brogues aren’t for you, check out the rest of the range, because it’s not often you find shoes of this quality at a sensible price! I’ve also got my eye on the La Lumiere in blue snake and the La Tullerie in grey snake.

3 thoughts on “Review: Mary & Clarks La Promenade Studded Brogue

  1. Eish! this La Lumiere in Blue Snake is just breath taking. Its killing me. How do we South Africans order shoes from Mary & Clarks.

Leave a Reply

