The Flat Pack

Well I never! The sun actually shone over London for pretty much the duration of the bank holiday weekend. Planets must have aligned or some shiz. Anyway, I hear it will be raining again tomorrow, but in honour of the three days of actually-fairly-average-for-this-time-of-year-but-gratefully-received weather I will be posting today about my favourite summer staple – the flat sandal.

Over the years I’ve amassed quite a collection, so I thought I’d show you a few of my favourites! This has absolutely nothing to do with the fact I have several hormonal chin spots and really don’t want my photo taken. Oh no.

20130527-191555.jpg
First up are this neon pair from Topshop. Neon never seems to show up properly in photos, but these are bright! I love these so much, they seem to go with everything, and they really enhance a tan! I regret not buying the pink and yellow they did too.

20130527-192319.jpgThe nearest I could find were these MM6 beauties, not cheap at £215, but hey, the sales are coming up!

20130527-193059.jpgThis leather tribal pair set me back a massive £3, brand new, at my local car boot sale. I love these on holiday as they are super light and have foam soles, so make a more sophisticated alternative to flip flops. They jazz up my cropped denims a treat and also work well with a Breton dress.

44502779tu_14_f

This Antik Batik pair would work just as well and are currently on sale at £59. I love pink and orange together – the perfect zingy colour combo!

20130527-193733.jpg
These were my only purchase from last year’s much feted H&M collaboration with Marni. The prints didn’t really do it for me but I knew I had to have these beauties. I love how shiny they are but I’m not convinced they don’t make me look a little cankletastic so I usually wear them with a maxi.

000454996alt1

Silver sandals are so versatile and these Dune gladiators would add interest to the simplest summer outfit. I’d wear them with boyfriend jeans and a stripy tee.

20130527-194343.jpg

I think everyone needs a pair of jewel encrusted flats in their life! These River Island ones saved my bacon at a few summer weddings during my second pregnancy and now I always sling them in my bag when I go to one, so I can slip them on when I’m bored of my heels sinking in the grass/dancing/just plain too drunk to stand in heels.

221FQ90835

This Karen Millen pair are so elegant, I think they’d be the smart option for any summer event. Pain-free chic gets my vote every time!

leopard This leopard pair from Boden are among my very favourites. They are really comfy and I love the strappy, cage-like effect. I’ll even forgive them the dodgy tan lines!

all ba

This All Black pair are a simpler style, but just as chic! I’m very tempted by these. They’d be perfect with a black column maxi.

snake

These Nine West gladiators were my first foray into the world of the flat sandal (flip flops excepted). They pre-date my husband and I love them nearly as much! I remember buying them on a shopping trip with my mum – she talked me into them. Ahead of her time, as always!

20353853_A_p

If you’re after your own snakey sandal, the Studio Beat from Clarks could be the one. I really like the chain detailing on the front strap and the way the pattern continues onto the heel – the devil is in the detail when it comes to flat sandals!

gigis

Ah, Sam Edelman Gigis. The eternal blogger’s cliche. And, just like the Michael Kors watch before them, I’m a fully signed up member of the club. My rose gold pair came to me via the Outnet for a very reasonable £37. They really are as comfortable as everyone says!

20130528-080044.jpg

Should I ever find myself in need of a second pair, I think I’d choose these animal print lovelies, though the Gigi comes in SO many colour ways I’d be spoilt for choice.

So, that completes my run down of my favourite flat sandals. Did you notice the glaring omission? There is one, I promise, and I’ll be discussing that in further detail in my next post. If none of those bad boys tickle your fancy, I’ll leave you with one more pair. Sporty and practical with a hint of Louis Vuitton-style checkerboard detailing….

benny

Nice, eh? So, what did you get up to in the sunshine? Did you get your toes out? Do let me know!

4 thoughts on “The Flat Pack

  1. I’m loving the river island jewel sandals. They have a real Indian style feel to them. Think I may have to head down to east London to hunt out a pair.

  2. hi there. lovely collection! did you find that you had to size up half a size with the sam edelman gigis? I’m thinking of buying a pair on sale (I know, I am so late on the gigi wagon) but am very confused about sizing. A lot of people say to size up, but when I have sized up on shoes in the past, it hasn’t always worked for me, so I’m doing some research 🙂

Leave a Reply

