Graduate Fashion Week with Next

Last week I was lucky enough to attend the Graduate Fashion Week gala show and awards ceremony with the lovely Ellie from Next, Natasha from Jam and fellow bloggers Lauren and Ngoni.

After a delicious, calorie-laden lunch at Byron we headed over to the exhibition. The various universities had stands set out displaying their collections and lookbooks. The innovation and talent were evident and inspiring.

The gala show was just breathtaking. Here are a few of my favourite picks:

044

Lauren Dutton’s (UCA Rochester) sporty collection was how I wish my school uniform had looked.

054

Juliena Siqueira’s (Istituto Marangoni) colourful kilts really lifted her monochrome formal menswear collection.

066

Josephine Pettman (Ravensbourne) showed a bright, punky collection. I particularly loved the jacket covered in badges.

070

Hannah Williams (UCA Epsom) has been widely touted as ‘the one to watch’, and on the strength of this offering I have to agree. Her painstakingly embossed, pastel collection was crafted entirely of latex. The result was a slick, achingly modern collection which could well be Celine’s heir to the minimalist throne. No surprise then that she took away both the Womenswear and Innovation awards.

091

From one award winner to another, Kirandeep Bassan’s bold collection took home the Zandra Rhodes Textile Award, and deservedly so. I loved the gorgeous colour clashes and oriental shapes – so vibrant.

100

Patricia Williams (Ravensbourne) showed clean lines, sharp pleating and a daisy-fresh palette of yellow and white. Simple and very effective.

191112

Lauren Smith’s (Edinburgh College of Art) print and applique collection took home the George Gold Award and a £20,000 prize. This collection was full of contradictions; leather and tulle, sharp yet fluid, bold yet ethereal. The judges called it an emotional collection, and I absolutely loved it.

120

Adam Jones (Manchester School of Art) showed a grunge-influenced womenswear collection. I loved the biker jackets and textured knitwear but, as much as I like a touch of whimsy in my outfits, I don’t think I’d be brave enough to wear the ‘Pussy’ skirt.

141

The last collection in the show was also my favourite. Nicolas Wirth’s (Istituto Marangoni) dark, romantic eveningwear collection was so, so beautiful and eminently wearable. The simple dresses really stood out in a sea of attention-grabbing designs.

It was a fanastic day and I’d like to say a huge thank you to Next for having me. Former winners at the awards include Stella McCartney, Christopher Bailey and Matthew Williamson, so it’s very exciting to think that I may have just seen the start of some very big careers!

And to the naysayers who think fashion is cyclical and unoriginal – keep your eye on this lot, I think they have a lot to teach us!

P.S. In all the excitement I completely failed to get a photo of my outfit, but I wore this fabulous Zebra skirt with a simple grey tee and a black blazer, and I loved it!

Zebra Skirt

2 thoughts on “Graduate Fashion Week with Next

    • It was so beautiful! The colours worked so beautifully and the skirts had amazing ‘bounce’ on the runway. No wonder the judges were unanimous!

Leave a Reply

