Do it like a dude

While I was in hospital, I suffered a terrible loss. You see, my husband was in charge of the washing machine and I arrived my favourite navy merino sweater would now struggle to fit my three year old son. Bless him, he tried (and it could have been worse, at least it wasn’t cashmere).

Anyway, in the spirit of treating every problem as an opportunity, I went shopping for a replacement. My original was from Gap, but was bought with a code and I baulk at paying full price for anything from Gap – I mean, why would you? I found myself looking at the selection in Uniqlo, but for some reason, a ladies crew neck jumper in there looks like this:

20131016-211630.jpgErm, no. That ain’t a crew neck, that there’s a scoop neck. However, on inspection of the mens’ section, I struck knitwear gold! A proper crew neck and soft merino in a deep shade of navy for £19.90? Don’t mind if I do. The XS is a nice fit – perfect shoulder width with a little slouch.

20131016-212108.jpg

Outfit:

Jumper – Uniqlo
Skirt – Baukjen
Shoes – Jimmy Choo
Necklace – Alex Monroe

So, what do you buy from the mens’ section/nick from your other half’s wardrobe?

4 thoughts on “Do it like a dude

  1. I discovered those (and also their women’s angora mix sweaters which are ‘proper’ crew necks) a few weeks ago and now have 4 different colours, including navy, which is the perfect kind of navy that seems to evade so many other knitwear manufacturers.
    And the best thing about it is that despite being labelled ‘dry clean only’ it machine washes on the wool cycle perfectly!

    If you do go for a woman’s angora mix sweater, (I recommend the off white – it’s the one I wear most and looks far more expensive than it is), size up as they drape better.

  2. That looks fab. I am heading to the men’s knitwear section! I had a man’s pink shirt from Gap that was an incredibly flattering cut.

  3. I have a problem with the Uniqlo “crew/scoop” necks. Why can’t they make a sensible crew neck. Not asking for much.

    And Amber – how tall are you? And how long are the sleeves on the mens? Way long or manageable?

Leave a Reply

