Next – New In Event

On Wednesday I was lucky enough to be invited to the Next New In Event showcasing their gorgeous summer collection.

Held at the swanky Soho hotel the Next girls brought a little taste of summer to their suite – a welcome respite from the grey drizzly outside!
20140329-074042.jpg20140329-074104.jpg
There was a fabulous selection of espadrilles. My personal favourites are the Mono Leather Luxe Espadrilles price at £40 (very Chanel), the Metallic Luxe Espadrilles (also leather and also £40) and the Mono Stripe Platform Espadrilles, price at £18. I think any of these would be a great addition my my summer wardrobe, but I’ll probably go for leather for longevity.

20140329-074707.jpg20140329-074722.jpg
Continuing with accessories, I loved this little metallic drawstring bag. I can’t find it on the website, but all these items will be dropping soon so keep your eye out. The mule is having a fashion moment this summer, and this gold pair would be an affordable nod to the trend at £30.
20140329-080015.jpg20140329-080452.jpgAfter months of black, navy and grey, I do like to break out the brights in the summer months and I love this Aztec-y print which ran through the summer collection – the top in particular would be a fab holiday staple, perfect for throwing on over a bikini and denim shorts. Again, I don’t think these are on the website just yet, but will be arriving soon.

20140329-080857.jpgI love the look of a denim skirt but can sometimes find the weight of the fabric a bit oppressive in the summer months, especially on a beach break. This lightweight Sporty Skirt, £22, is a lovely lightweight solution.

20140329-080908.jpg
My love of Equipment shirts is well documented on this blog, and recently I have been looking to invest in a sleeveless style. This sleeveless Utility shirt gives the look at a fraction of the price. Be quick though, the smallest sizes are already sold out!
20140329-080919.jpgAren’t these Silver Point Slingbacks dead ringers for my Boden ones? They’re not leather, but at £26 I think we can forgive them that. A great way to get the look for less.

20140329-080927.jpgIf flats aren’t your thing, how about these asymmetric pointed courts? I love the summery duck egg blue!

20140329-080935.jpg20140329-080950.jpgI’m pretty happy with my style as a whole, but sometimes I wish I was just that little bit more girly to be able to pull off the two lovely items above. This cream lace dress is just so cute and as it was stretchy rather than structured, would look great dresses down with a denim jacket. Pleats are back in a big way and this dusky pink skirt is an easy way to wear them – so pretty. Again I couldn’t find either of these on the website, but I’m sure they’ll pop up soon.
20140329-080958.jpgAnother of Next’s key prints was this gorgeous muted floral, appearing on a variety of items. My favourites were these tailored shorts and court shoes. I think these would look fab worn together with a simple grey marl tee and stacks of silver bangles.
20140329-081006.jpg20140329-081017.jpgThe ‘fugly’ sandal is big news this year, and these wide strapped snake versions are a gentler nod to the trend if you’re not ready for platform pool slides or Birkenstocks. I had a much loved pair of snakeskin gladiators which finally died last summer and they went with EVERYTHING so I’m very tempted by these.

A huge thanks to Next for having me, and to Blow Ltd for my gorgeous beachy waves – unfortunately no pic as the weather meant I went from beach to bedraggled as soon as I left the building. Boo!

2 thoughts on “Next – New In Event

  1. An interesting post Amber but step away from NEXT shoes- the quality is appalling; they do not last amd forty quid for rope soled Espadrilles from this store isn’t worth it.

    Saying that I do like the courts- that asymmetric slash of leather across the instep looks very elegant when viewed from the front. Totally Kim Novak. The rest I am ‘meh’ about- a bit too much mumsy for me.

    Your writing is great. Am enjoying it immensely.

  2. The pleated dusky pink skirt is just beautiful but that style does remind me of the sort of thing Mum wore to work in the 80s (in pale pink, pale blue, mint green….) when I was a kid so it’s something I can’t quite get over!

Leave a Reply

