High Street Hit – Jones the Bootmaker

Now, I’ve got to start off by saying that until recently, I was profoundly prejudiced against Jones. This dates back to c. 1997, when my mother insisted on getting me sensible Mary Jane style school shoes from said retailer, rather than the de rigeur Kickers I so desperately wanted. I embarked on a campaign of hate against those shoes and managed to all but destroy them in a week, procuring my much desired Kickers and destroying my mother’s faith in Jones’ quality standards in the process.

Anyhoo, fast forward 17 years (really? REALLY?) to 2014 and I’ve just missed out on some glittery Jimmy Choos in the sale and am lamenting my damn bad luck. A very glam friend links these for me, promising they are much sparklier in the flesh.

Cajun Court Shoes Twenty Four Seven - £79

A trip to Jones is necessitated and lo, I find not only these beauties, but many, many others.

So, in case you too have denounced Jones as not for the likes of you, here are a few styles ticking my fancy. Oh, and did I mention they have a sale on?

Abacus Loafers - NOW £34 Was £69

Abacus Loafers – NOW £34 Was £69

I have to admit to buying these today. I wear a lot of pointy flats at work, as I’m lazy and can’t be bothered with heels. I love the unusual colour of this pair and they are really comfy!

 

Black Label Cello Slingbacks  - £49

Black Label Cello Slingbacks – NOW £49 Was £79

Acne at a knock down price? Look no further! The contemporary shape and monochrome colouring of these make them a great next season buy.

Black Label Capri Heeled Sandals - NOW £29.70 Was £99

Black Label Capri Heeled Sandals – NOW £29.70 Was £99

Another designer inspired buy here, this pair are very like the Alexander Wang Lovisa pumps I have been coveting forever. And suede for under £30? Snap them up before I do!

Karlie Casual Sandals - NOW £25 Was £39

Karlie Casual Sandals – NOW £25 Was £39

If you haven’t yet bought into the fugly sandal trend, here’s your chance to do so for minimal outlay. These leather sandals are great value and the chunky white sole gives them a sports luxe edge.

Iconic Heeled Sandals - NOW £49 Was £75

Iconic Heeled Sandals – NOW £49 Was £75

I don’t quite know why I like these. They’ve got a bit of a 90s flavour about them with the chunky heel. I’m visualising them with something quite feminine, like a lace pencil skirt, to accentuate the toughness.

So, there you go – i certainly wasn’t expecting to find so many great buys, were you? Goes to show I should be more open-minded and not rule out a store on the basis of teenage angst and ancient prejudice! Discovered any surprise hits in unexpected places lately? Tell me about them by commenting below or tweeting, I’d love to hear about your finds!

Leave a Reply

