Where theres a Will(s) there’s a way…

I’ve been looking for a tartan skirt for AGES. As in years. This A/W they happen to be en vogue, so I thought this might be my year. Originally, I thought this one from Uniqlo showed promise, and it is lovely (and a great buy now on sale), but it was just a little longer than I wanted.

Wool Blended Check Skirt - Now £19.90

Wool Blended Check Skirt – Now £19.90

I really wanted a skirt with at least some wool in it, and while there was no shortage of lovely static-raddled acrylic versions on the high street, I was really struggling to find what I was looking for.

Until I went into Jack Wills. Now this is a rare event – it’s one of those shops I had dismissed as unsuitable for anyone of legal voting age, but I loved the window display so I popped in. And, lo…

Eberton Wool Skirt - £59.50

Eberton Wool Skirt – £59.50

Now admittedly, it is 60% polyester, but it is warm, comfy and pretty much exactly what I was looking for, so I’m happy as a pig in the proverbial.

I also picked up this jumper. I love the colour and sheer shoulder detail. Ideal for when you want something slightly dressier than a plain crew neck.

Isleworth Crew - £49.50

Isleworth Crew – £49.50

Here are a few other items which caught my eye:

Holecroft Brush Shirt - £49.50

Holecroft Brush Shirt – £49.50

I really like the colours and the soft brushed fabric of this shirt. Plaid shirts are one of my A/W staples – warm and easy to wear with skinnies and ankle boots. What more could you want?

Kentmere Cashmere Cable Crew - £129

Kentmere Cashmere Cable Crew – £129

The colour of this sweater is just stunning. I’ve never tried a cable knit before, fearing it could make me look a bit bulky, but I’ve lost quite a bit of weight (mostly from my boobs, sigh) since last winter so maybe I could pull it off with black skinnies and Pistols?

The following two dresses would have come home with me, had they had an 8 in either when I visited the store. So simple and easy to wear.

Delancy Dress - £49.50

Delancy Dress – £49.50

Carrie Dress - £49.50

Carrie Dress – £49.50

I am so, so tempted by these boots – I may have to order them to try. The berry shade is so gorgeous, although I love the navy and the charcoal colour ways too!

Ancroft Chelsea Boot - £69.50

Ancroft Chelsea Boot – £69.50

So, if you look past the hoodies and logo-bottomed track pants, there are some real gems in Jack Wills. One caveat: if you are over about 5’6 and buying a skirt or a dress, you’d better have really good legs or very little modesty!

2 thoughts on “Where theres a Will(s) there’s a way…

  1. I agree – they do have some nice little finds if you can get past the teeny boppers! Their shirts are usually well made – I used to buy their shrunken boy fits which were great for petite gals.

Leave a Reply

